Favorite Games from PlayStation Experience 2015

Well, the 2015 PlayStation Experience was pretty good. I mean, there were some great announcements, and it has almost convinced me to get one of those PlayStation Virtual Reality headsets. I think I need to be convinced a little more, but if Sony would send me one to review, I would be happy to. Anyway, let’s get on with the list!

 

12. The Modern Zombie Taxi Co

I thought I would start off with one of the goofiest, well, the goofiest game I could think of that was shown off. The Modern Zombie Taxi Co is a PlayStation VR game where you drive zombies around the city, and deal with Goat Simulator-style wackiness. While this isn’t my favorite game shown off, and these kinds of wacky games are a dime a dozen, I will be interested to see how well it is implemented with the PlayStation VR.

 

11. 100 Foot Robot Golf

Yeah, I am going to put the VR games at the bottom, since I still have concerns about the whole VR movement in general, but 100 Foot Robot Golf looks hilarious and entertaining. You’ve got giant robots that play golf, and you can still beat up the other robots and destroy whatever is around you to make sure you get the best golf score. While I wish this game was playable without VR, like most VR games, I wouldn’t mind getting a Sony VR headset if this game is more than a wacky concept.

 

10. Uncharted 4

I know it’s not very high on the list, but it’s a safe bet this game is going to be pretty dang good. I mean, it’s Naughty Dog. You can already see from the recent footage and trailers that the game will have a compelling story, interesting/likable characters, solid gameplay, beautiful graphics, and an amazing musical score. Sure, I am curious to see how much the microtransactions will affect the overall multiplayer experience, but I hope it won’t do too much damage, unlike the microtransactions you see in Ubisoft and EA games. I can’t wait to finish up Drake’s final adventure in 2016.

 

9. Nioh

Up next is Tecmo Koei and Team Ninja’s new Dark Souls-style game, Nioh. For those that might not be even slightly familiar with this game, it was originally supposed to be released on the PlayStation 3, but is now coming out on the PlayStation 4. It basically looks like another tough Souls-style game, but with samurais and ninjas. It looks impressive, but I hope it gets why Dark Souls/Bloodborne work, and not just try to capitalize on the fact that there is only one more Dark Souls game coming out.

 

8. Final Fantasy 7 Remake

We finally got to see some footage of the fan-requested remake of one of the most important games of all time. However, I will say the direction this remake is going is odd. It is more action-based in its combat system, and it’s going to be episodic in release. I am a little disappointed that they didn’t just do turn-based combat like in the original, since they have a few upcoming games that have turn-based combat. Hopefully, they can add a special feature where you can switch from the action-based combat system, to turn-based ala Chrono Trigger. Either way, I’m still interested, but I want to see more of the game before I either make or not make a purchase.

 

7. Yakuza Zero

It is very exciting to see that Yakuza 5 is out now, and even more excited that we are actually getting the prequel game, Yakuza Zero. For those not paying attention to this very consistently good series of games, Yakuza Zero is, like the title mentions, the early days of Kiryu Kazuma’s days in the Yakuza. It’s great to actually see this game with PlayStation 4 graphics and polish. I just don’t understand why SEGA doesn’t advertise this series more, since their flagship series has basically gone down in quality over the past couple of years. Anyway, I can’t wait to crack some skulls against rival Yakuzas in the next two games!

 

6. Ratchet and Clank Remake

I know I have talked about this game before, but this game is just so interesting to me. It’s a remake/reboot/based off a movie that is based around the original game that was released back on the PlayStation 2. Still, it’s good to see that it is keeping its traditional gameplay intact, with easy-to-get-into platforming, and fun weapons. This will be yet another PlayStation 4 exclusive that I can’t wait to play in the future.

 

5. Brut@l 

This was a fun little surprise, a roguelike action game with 3D graphics to look like the very original roguelike games from so many decades ago. It might be another brutal roguelike that has flooded the market place, but at least it’s doing something a tad different. I’m not against these types of games, but when it seems like they are all becoming very similar to one another, then the genre becomes boring. I just love how this developer is making Brut@l this homage, but interesting take on a genre that is all over the place.

 

4. The announcements from Double Fine Productions

Let’s see here. They have a remastered version of Day of the Tentacle, a remaster of Full Throttle, a new VR Psychonauts experience, a new IP known as Headlander, and have the current Psychonauts 2 Fig crowdfunding campaign going on and is already almost at the $3 mil mark? Yeah, I think you can see why I want all of these games. I know and agree that Double Fine Productions have their flaws, but I still want to play their games, and I still find myself fondly enjoying them. Seriously though, I squealed like a schoolgirl when I saw the announcement of Full Throttle Remaster.

 

3. Hob

From the makers of the super popular Torchlight games, Runic Games are back with a new isometric action game with puzzle elements. It sets you in this lush/atmospheric/beautiful fantasy world with a character with a giant arm that uses it to solve puzzles, platforming, and fighting. It’s such a cool-looking game, and I hope those at Runic Games know I would be happy to review it on my PlayStation 4.

 

2. Bound

So, this game is a combination of the same studio that makes the main God of War games and a developer that has worked on interesting experiences. You are set in this gorgeously done universe, where you play as this weird ballerina character, as you platform your way through this unusual world. It’s definitely an interesting concept in terms of the overall design and experience they want to bring to the PlayStation 4. I am rather optimistic that future news and footage will make sure Bound is an attractive product.

 

1. Ni No Kuni II

The original Ni No Kuni was my favorite game of 2013, and quickly became one of my top five favorite RPGs of all time. When I saw that a sequel was being made, I reacted as excitedly as people seeing the new Star Wars trailers. While it might not have all of Studio Ghibli helping out with the sequel, they do have the same composer and art designer, while Level-5, the creator of the original game, will handle the story. The game once again looks incredible, and I love the focus on British voice acting. Just a small side comment, for some reason, the older male character who is from another world, really makes me think of Doctor Who. I honestly think I am going to be the only one who thinks this. Either way, I am so happy Ni No Kuni is getting a sequel and I anxiously await more information.

Leave a Reply

